Hefner Initiative- Cheyenne

Under the Hefner China Fund, MeiLi and Robert established the “Hefner Initiative-Cheyenne” Award
The two awards are based on the following qualifications:High School Seniors from Cheyenne High School, Oklahoma
ACT Score (College Entrance Exam)
GPA (Grade Point Average) for High school years
Resume submitted by the student
Essay on their view in regard to “US/China relationship”

A committee of teachers will review the entries and submit the semi-finalists for the Hefners to assess and announce the two winners.

Each award consists of a 10-day trip to China (i.e., a package tour with return air tickets and accommodation paid for by the Hefner China Fund) and the Hefners will announce the destinations of the award at a later date.

On their return, the two winners are required to write about their trip and a follow up essay on their view in regard to “US/China relationship”, whether their views remained or changed. The Hefners also encourage the winners to give talks to their community and share their experiences with family, friends and fellow students.

  • The “Hefner Initiative-Cheyenne” Award for Year 2007/08 winners were Jordan Lindberg and Shannon Collins.
  • The “Hefner Initiative-Cheyenne” Award for Year 2006/07 winners were Katrina Schroeder and Jonathan Walker.
  • The “Hefner Initiative-Cheyenne” Award for Year 2005/06 winners were Ashton Musick and Patrick VerSteeg.